Some people do not mind to spend their leisure time with their colleagues while some people prefer to keep their private life separate from their work life.

How should people spend their personal time has become a hot topic of discussion these days. Some people perceive that we need to spend more time with our colleagues while others believe that our personal time shouldn’t be involved with our work life. In this essay, I shall discuss both perspectives in detail before reaching a final verdict that both perspectives hold equal significance. There are various compelling reasons why it is beneficial for us to socialize with our colleagues when we have spare time and the prominent one is that a close collaboration among co-workers can enhance the revenue and help businesses flourish as staff members tend to put in their best effort to work when they enjoy the work environment. To illustrate, a recent study conducted in Japan has revealed that nearly 80% of Japanese companies arrange numerous social activities for their employees to strengthen their bond. For this reason, it is essential to spend more time with our co-workers. However, some oppose this notion and says that it’s better to not mix up our valuable private time and work time as we work long hours nowadays, so it is significant for us to have some rests from work. Take myself for example, I am a little introverted so normally I go to gym or jog in the park when I have free time because I believe exercising is the most efficient way for me to unwind from work stress. As can be seen, it is also crucial for us to have our own private time. To sum up, people’s opinions towards how to spend the leisure time is various. Taking everything into consideration, I’m inclined to say that we just need to choose the most suitable and beneficial way for us to enjoy our spare time according to our own personalities and needs.