Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Foreign language education at school is essential these days and some people perceive that foreign languages should be introduced at elementary school while others don’t agree. Although start learning a different language at primary school can give children the opportunity to gain significant skills that will reward them later on in the future, it can also bring some challenges associated with pressure and stress. I believe the positive points of learning foreign languages at an early age surpass the negative aspects. The crucial beneficial factor of doing this is that it enables children to be more aware of cultural diversity by learning a new language as it is an efficient way to broaden their life horizon. For example, it has been found that students who studied different languages at primary school tend to blend more easily and effortlessly with people from different backgrounds. Additionally, children always learn faster than adults. As can be seen, those advantages have a profound impact on children’s future. However, every coin has two sides. The main challenge of learning different languages at primary school is that children can be stressed out due to the difficulty of the new language. A good illustration is that I struggled to memorize various words and phrases when I first started learning English at primary school and it was frustrated if I couldn’t spell those words correctly. Therefore, this could be detrimental for children’s mental health. To sum up, a foreign language should be taught at primary school or secondary school has become a hot topic of debate in the public. While studying a new language at primary school could bring some challenges, it can also open the additional advantages in the future. I’m inclinde to say that the overall benefits of this are superior.