People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc. ). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

There is no doubt that the education plays an important role in one’s life. However, different individuals undertake graduation and post-graduation courses for various reasons. The following essay will explore some of these causes. First and foremost, the higher education opens a plethora of job opportunities for an individual. This can be seen by observing the number of students undertaking jobs, once they get passed out of a college or university. For instance, most premium engineering institutes in India offer more than hundred percent campus placements. Furthermore, degree courses are mandatory if one wants to appear for various government and military positions. An example of this is the eligibility criteria for Indian Civil Services examination. For that reason, one needs to hold a bachelor or master’s degree. Secondly, college education has become a part of our social values and structure. As a result of which, many youngsters undergo university and pre-university courses for the social acceptance. For example, most matrimonial advertisements in India clearly mention one’s level of education. Such a practice came into existence because of the fact that graduation certificate has become a social symbol, over the years. Moreover, graduation has had played an important role in guranteeing social as well as financial security to an individual. This can be exemplified by looking at the loan and credit policies of various banks. In these financial institutions, a degree holder has a higher chance of acceptance as compared to a school pass-out. To summarize, education is essential for society’s as well as a person’s growth and development. Admittedly, there are many social and financial reasons for taking higher education up. At the end of the day, it is resulting in betterment of the race and the world.