Some people decided to have children in their late age than in the past. Why? Do advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, some individuals made decisions to have kids when they are older compared to the past. This is owing to their preoccupation with career pursuits. This essay will argue that the benefits of this trend offset the drawbacks, as older parents are more mature and financially stable to raise children. An important reason why some people decided to have kids in their late age is because of concerns for their career progress. In other words, some believe believe that children can be a source of distraction when they are at the early stages of their work. For instance, some female doctors in Nigeria delay having their first child until they have been promoted to a senior level. This has resulted in some people bearing children when they are older. Thus, if young professionals are less concern about progression in their career, they would have had kids at a younger age. One commonly cited disadvantage of people giving birth and raising children at a older age compared to the past is the associated health risks. Maternal and Child morbidity and mortality increase with the age of the parents coupled with the occurrence of genetic abnormalities. For example, Down syndrome and similar problems are common in children of mothers older than 35 years. This risks are reduced when couples have children at a younger age. Despite this, there are a number of significant advantages of giving birth and raising kids at a older age. First of all, many people are more financially bouyant with increase in age. Thus, they can provide for both the basic needs of their children as well as meet desires like sound education and healthcare for their young ones. This occurs because many older couples are at the senior level or at the peak of their profession. Furthermore, older parents are better able to cope with the stress of raising kids compared to younger couples. This is due to the fact that they are more mature and they worry less on things such as education, cost of living and work stress. This makes them to take proper care of their children. In conclusion, some couples do not have children until an older age so as to focus on their career. Although they and their kids may be later expose to health problems, many people are more mature to take care of young ones and financially stable in their later years. On the balance, there are more advantages compared to the disadvantages of the decision to have children when a person is older.