Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organization. Do the advantages for people working for their own business outweigh the disadvantages? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is a common aspiration that people prefer to start their own business rather than work for a company or an organization. Personally speaking, I would say this tendency has both benefits and drawbacks, but I believe the advantages of running a company outweigh the disadvantages. The biggest motivator for people to become entrepreneurs is the fact that it can fulfil their feelings of accomplishment and pride. They can become their own boss, work independently, not being stricted by any rules. It allows people to do what they like, follow their passion without having to ask for permission. For instance, a restaurant owner can take the decision to renew the menu or choose the employees. In comparison, most of the employees working in a company do not have much say in the functioning, they have to what they are told to do. Another advantage of owning is a business is that owners can have the opportunity to earn unlimited income based on their own effort. In other words, people can earn more by running a successful business. There are many outstanding entrepreneurs such as Bill Gates, Donald Trump or Steve Jobs. Admittedly, there are some minor disadvantages to owning a business. People have to face up with many financial risks such as bad debt, foreign exchange fluctuation and bankruptcy when they can’t attract customers. If they work for a company, they may have medical allowances, and retirement pensions. But if they decide to start their own, they will have to pay for their employees. Moreover, an owner always shoulders the heaviest responsibility. To be more precise, he has to do multi tasks, from business planning, staff managing to accounting or even marketing, which can lead to stress and health suffers. And it may go worse if he makes bad decisions. In short, a business can be a burden if it is not managed and monitored properly. In conclusion, while there are minor disadvantages to running a business, I believe the benefits are greater than the problems associated with it. In fact, the potential problems can be solved by taking appropriate measures and monitoring progress.