Some people consider thinking about and planning for the future to be a waste of time. They argue that people should simply live in the moment. Use at least one personal example in your response.

There is a belief that to be present-oriented is better than making plans for tomorrow, which is thought to be a meaningless way to spend the time. I partially agree with this statement, believing that both focusing on the present moment and planning for the future are equally important in our lives. To begin with, creating a plan helps us to reach our goals and fulfil our dreams. Furthermore, having a clear vision of the future life together with effective guidelines enable people to become successful in the path they choose. For example, Steve Jobs, a prominent salesman and leader, had a habit to plan several years ahead. Even though not all these plans might have been achieved, a greater percentage of them were put into practice and brought success to him and the company he worked with. On the other hand, thoughts about the future might make people feel anxious and stressed, especially if the future goes against the created scenario. Concentrating on the present moment might, otherwise, help to release the tension. Let me illustrate my view by a personal example. During my journey to Europe, I took a wrong train and did not reach my destination on time. That obstacle required me to focus on the positive sides and think of my current resources and opportunities. Miraculously, I found some thoughtful and caring people in the same compartment with me, who helped me to figure out the best solution out of my predicament. To sum it up, it is very important to build steps towards our future success by planning effectively. At the same time, tomorrow is unpredictable and there is no guarantee that life will go in accordance with our plans. That is why, we should not forget about the gift of the present moment, that is new opportunities and more peaceful state of mind.