Some people consider thinking about and planning for the future to be a waste of time. They argue that people should simply live in the moment.

Musing on and planning about future are some of the most pleasurable mental activities one can perform. Many argue, that this is a waste of time. Nonetheless, I believe thinking and planning about future is one of the cardinal rules for success. To illustrate this, the optimal performance of subconscious mind when working towards a goal and ability to deal with unforeseeable events when one is prepared for the unknown will be analysed in this essay. To begin, of paramount importance in achieving success, is the functionality of human’s subconscious mind. For instance, most self-help authors avow that the subconscious mind works like a guided missile, once a target for future is set, it follows the path that would lead to the achievement of those objectives. A person’s mind without a thorough plan would be derailed from the track that would lead to the realisation of their dreams. This example debunks the idea that planning for and pondering on future is a waste of time. In addition, individuals who plan ahead of time, are better equipped to deal with the curve balls that life throws at them than their counterparts who choose to live in the moment. For instance, before deciding upon the mentor to be hired for one of my research projects, I spent a painstaking amount of time, gathering information about authorities, whom to contact, in case that the selected mentor did not have a credential that he or she boasts about having. Since I took the time to do this, when my selected mentor did turn out to a fraudster, I knew immediately who to report him to. Thus, as my personal experience taught me, planning in advance can save us from the worst scenarios that could play out. As a result, due to the higher probability of achieving one’s goals and improved ability to deal with unexpected outcomes, it is clear that planning for and thinking about future is not a waste of time. I feel that people should devote enough time to practice this.