For some people, shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but is a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Few consider shopping as a leisure time activity, however those who depend on daily wedges, buying daily needs is a struggle. I believe, purchasing is not an entertainment activity, but is becoming a trend in society, which is a negative development. The major disadvantage of this trend is increased materialism. It has been observed that various companies are using famous celebrities to promote their brands and products. The followers of such promoters tend to buy those products blindly, even if they are not needed. In addition to this, young generation often follows fashion trends under peer pressure, hence end up spending huge amounts in shopping. As a result, they need more money to survive and hence have to ask extra money from their parents or work for extra hours. Moreover, people do not value money, if they treat shopping as a medium of entertainment. To illustrate, these days, credit card companies introducing various of offers on cards and gives few credits on each purchase, therefore youngsters usually enrol for such offers. Soon, they become addicted to use of credits and face big bills. Not paying bills on time may lead to negative consequences. Some may undergo depression if they do not spend time on shopping if it has become a habit. On the other side, there are some basic advantages such as economic enhancement of the society. These buyers play an important role in boosting the economical status of the society in the world by investing money in goods and keeping a strong cash flow. Second minor benefit is that it aids living standard, which keeps positivity in the society and encourages people to work for betterment. To conclude, although there are few minor advantages of shopping as a leisure time activity, in my opinion, it invites many negative aspects along with it if not handled in a controlled way.