In many sub-continent countries like India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, Cricket has become more popular than the national sports of these countries.

Undoubtedly, cricket is the well- known game among all the people in subcontinent countries. Since it gives more entertainment and greater competitions, it achieved higher popularity than the national sports. This essay intends to analyse the reasons for this phenomenon in detail. First of all, cricket is much more thrilling and interesting to watch and play for all age groups than other sports. To precise, people can be enjoyed by playing or even watching, which is the main attractive feature. For instance, in India, even though many people have busy life schedule, they are interested in watching cricket either through television or live because it gives more energy and happiness. Moreover, a lot of people including young and old find enough time to play cricket in their surroundings in spite of their unattended higher priorities. This is because of the attractive elements of cricket sport, which also enhance positive and vibrant qualities. Secondly, it is a team sport. In other words, teamwork is essential to play cricket successfully. Many people like these types of sports rather than solitary sports as people can show their strength and unity in front of others. Furthermore, players help each other to overcome the drawbacks. Such activities develop team spirit among players considerably. Most of the subcontinent countries including India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lana plays in international cricket and their successes in this game are tremendous. This is another reason cricket has gained a huge popularity in this part of the world. The national games like Hockey, kabaddi and volleyball are not attractive to people in these countries as there are fewer events of these games. It is obvious that mass people would show more enthusiasm in the sports where their national team play at the international level and become the best in the world. Finally, unlike national sports, it is very to understand and learn. To explain, rules and regulations of cricket are much easier to learn for even a common man. Therefore its’ fame has reached greater heights. This would mean that cricket is very common and popular game in the sub- continental countries. In conclusion, despite it consumes a long time, it helps people to entertain and relax enormously than the national sports. I hope authority should consider these points and take appropriate measures to encourage people for playing national sports also.