In many sub-continent countries like India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, Cricket has become more popular than the national sports of these countries.

The game of cricket has undoubtedly bowled over the native sports in the majority of the Asian and neighbouring continents. The popularity of the sport, as many suggests owes to the peculiarity of the game and the flamboyance of the players and team involved. Let us discourse the reasons below. It is quite obvious that native sports in these countries lack the enthusiasm and some unique features which cricket does not. Moreover, national sports are not being played on a global perspective compared to cricket these days. In addition to this, the younger generations are influenced by the game of cricket from their childhood. For example, in India, seldom would you find one describe his childhood devoid of cricket. Hockey being the national sport of India, will find itself miles away on the road to popularity compared to cricket. One other reason for its popularity would be the frequency of international tournaments or series that occur in the circle of cricket, whereas native sport does not acknowledge international viewers on such basis. As a result, cricket and its players splash around the media all the year around, making it closer the mass hearts. For example, the welcome that Australians received after winning the cricket world cup in 1996 acquired  a worldwide attention on television screens. The world witnessed India coming to a stand still on winning world cup following this. History favours the sub-continental countries teams to procure higher rankings in the cricket hierarchy, an illustrated reason for cricket’s popularity in these continents. The fact that majority of the tournaments in world cricket hangs around the Asian subcontinent also adds to the heap of reasons. Asia cup, Sharjah cup etc. exemplifies the same. In conclusion, the native sports are fading importance in the huge waves of roars applauding cricket. This phenomenon is getting more globalised and seems unstoppable. As a sports person myself, I opine that measures should be taken to promote the national sports because no sport is better than other unless played in the right spirit.