In many sub-continent countries like India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, Cricket has become more popular than the national sports of these countries.

Cricket is a sport which includes two opposite teams played by 11 players on each side and it is one of the most popular outdoor sports in these modern days. The total number of audience and the importance of this game have evolved beyond boundaries in the recent times than ever, particularly in countries like India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan etc. and I believe the number of reasons contributed towards this change is numerous. But it is undoubtedly arguable that the significance of cricket has crossed as that of the national games, in almost all these countries. Being an Indian, I would consider my self-privileged to explain what happened in India which has, in turn, helped cricket to be a celebrated game. The national sport of India is declared as hockey and India always has had a wonderful hockey team now and in the past. But it is quite evident that during the mid-80s the exposure cricket had received internationally is commendable when compared to any other sport, so as in India too. Those days, hockey was also given similar importance but with India's victory of International Cricket Council's world cup in the early 90s, the dream of an Asian country winning an international title has become a dream come true for not only Indians but also for the other subcontinents in Asia. Ever since then, the players were treated as celebrities and apparently the popularity of the game has increased and as time has passed, India became one of the most successful and a record winning team in the entire world. Adding to the flavour, it would be insensitive, if I do not count the contributions of individual cricket players and their influence in the Indian community. Some players like Sachin Tendulkar and Saurav Ganguly has been an envied opening partnership for all other opponent countries, and they have been very successful in making and achieving new records day by day. Sachin Tendulkar alone holds more than 200 records in the game of Cricket and he is the most run scorer and century holder in all forms of cricket. Additionally, when we go back to the history of cricket it is worth mentioning that, cricket has its root of origin to England, and I presume being a colony to the English for around 200 years until 1947, cricket has got widely popularised during these days. In summary, although, I have so many other reasons to be specifically pointed out, I consider the above said details are most significant to be told. However, I would be more than eager to witness what sport could possibly replace Cricket from its position in the future, as I believe change is inevitable and the world is dynamic.