Some people claim that using tobacco has brought several social problems and smoking should be banned.

People who argue that smoking should not be prohibited they claim that government generates revenue through this medium. The money incurred from tax payment are used to build hospital, school and construct good roads. Advocates of this group also claim that restaurants and bars depended on tobacco sales as their only source of income and thus if a ban is implemented on such products, the rate of unemployment and robbery would be on the increase. However, there are convincing reasons why I do think that the use of tobacco should not be allowed. Firstly, smoking is harmful. The use of tobacco contains toxic substance such as nicotine which when inhaled has an adverse effect on the health on an individual thus predisposing such persons to conditions like lungcancer and heart problem. For instance, a research survey conducted in Nigeria on the factors involved in the cause of disease indicates that about 70% of illness are caused by exposure to inhalation and exhalation of tobacco products. Secondly, the youths engage most of their time in areas like bars and clubs, where such products are used, thus depriving them to contribute positively to the society. Therefore, government should ban the sales of alcohol in public places, and also increase tax rate on shops or hotels that sell such products. In conclusion, it is my convinced view that the smoking and usage of tobacco should be forbidden because it is dangerous to the health. It also prevents individuals to engage actively to the growth of the community. Therefore, I would suggest that the government should promote awareness of the effects of the use of such productsm