Some people claim that not enough of waste from home is been recycled. They say the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

It is claimed by a number of individuals that legislation alone is required to promote the reprocessing of wastes which have been thought to be, at present, very scantily done by individual households. I strongly disagree with this notion because this approach is not workable and it is an infringement on the rights of the citizens. The main reason why I disagree with recycling rules is that it is not an efficient strategy to manage waste. This is because authorities would be unable to monitor the compliance of this agenda since it is not practicable to inspect every home. Taking Ghana for example, despite passing a law on rubbish reuse in 2004, there has been no remarkable achievement. Although it may seem sensible to order people to reutilize unused materials, it is not the right solution to the challenges of waste management as it is ineffective, however. Another reason is that this proposal infringes on the rights of the citizens as this development is not essential for survival. If people are forced to embrace the utilization of garbage, the outcome is a legal battle as human rights activists have sued the UK authority in the past. Instead, giving incentives and educating people on the importance of this practice should be the focus of the political administrators. A particularly good illustration is the case of France, a leading country in waste collection, where awards of recognition are given annually to the best family that supports government reprocessing exercise, leading to more commitment and participation. In conclusion, I completely disagree that law enactment is the only way to make people reprocess rubbish as it does not work and it also denies individuals of their freedom. It is my hope that other alternatives, including giving incentives, would be embraced.