Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

It is a common knowledge these days that recycling of wastes from homes is not enough as some people refuse to bring their wastes for recycling. Certain individuals have argued that to increase the effectiveness of recycling, that it should be enforced on the citizens which I considered inappropriate. Rather than doing this, authorities can give incentives, make effective publicity and even teach recycling in schools and colleges. Firstly, proponents of this argument have argued that for public programmes to prosper, it has to be legally binding. This means that it must be passed into law and without this, citizens may not take it serious. For example, after making it a legal requirement and the implications of going against the law well spelt out, for example, imprisonment or paying a huge fine, people will recycle more and this will result in less accumulation of waste in our environment and homes. I opined that instead of strict laws and regulations, public awareness and giving incentives to populace is a better way to go about this. For example, the German government publicized recycling in 2017 and the reward for every household that recycled and the following year it was recorded that the recycling rate had increased from 23 percent to 67 percent. Individuals were also given one dollar after five plastic bottles were recycled. Furthermore, schools and colleges can start teaching or offer courses on recycling. This will create awareness about it right from a young age. In conclusion, both government and individual have a role to play in recycling. I believe that it should not be a must and there are other better ways of getting it done.