Some people claim that living in big cities is creating difficulties whereas others think it makes easier.

People have different perspective regarding residing in metropolitan areas. Some people claim that urbanised lifestyles make easier for the residents for the quality of living standards and one’s convenience, whereas others believe that gathering into big cities causes environmental and psychological illness making people’s life more difficult. This essay will discuss both aspects for living in metropolitan areas before reaching a reasonable conclusion. Some people have a belief that the quality of lifestyles is better in urban areas. Since the urban cities provide various technologies and services for comfortable lifestyles, people can enjoy the comfortable and convenient facilities and services. For instance, the frequent transportation and 24/7 available shopping malls provide the convenient lifestyles where people can commute fast or buy groceries at their convenient times. Along with this, people can enhance their relationships from surrounded by a lot of people. Usually big cities are gathered by majority of people and this increases the opportunity for human interactions. The more people are surrounded by others there will be more chances to increase social interactions. For example, there are many social events occurring in big cities and majority of them have a purpose of social bonding. In contrast, some might disagree to live in big cities. The first and foremost reason is the environmental factors. The highly dense populated area creates massive environmental issues such as greenhouse gases, pollution, noise and congestion. Due to all these issues, people suffer various health issues and that can be the reason for the difficulties to reside in cities. Moreover, the urbanised areas are usually having a high competitive market. This competitive environment results in stressful lifestyles. A persistent accumulation of stresses and being exposed to the competitive environments, people would face the risk of psychological distress. In other words, this can result of many negative acts from too much stresses such as crimes, misbehave, distrust, depression, bully and societal isolation. In my opinion, even though metropolitan areas can provide the quality of technology and services for comfortable residents’ lifestyles, the environmental and psychological aspects cannot be ignored. With all those technological and services cannot recover psychological and environmental damages. Since those damages are taking longer to recover, the difficult urbanised lifestyles should not be favoured. The possession of comfortable lifestyles also cannot be claimed as an easy lifestyle by having all the negative side effects of urbanised lifestyles. In conclusion, there are different perspectives for residing in big areas. Comfortable lifestyles are the most obvious advantages for living in big cities but the psychological and environmental aspects cannot be forgotten.