Some people claim that children should be taught how to handle money and finances at school. Others, however, think that it should be a matter for families and not education.

When considering school curriculum, people are still divided about whether money management should be taught or not because it is not education’s responsibility. While there are benefits for the disapproving opinion, I would argue that it is better to let children finacially navigate their real world. The viewpoint that parents’ teaching children how to handle money and finances in lieu of school is understandable for several reasons. First, it is obvious that many young people lack the experience to control their own finances, so their families would be an ideal model for them learn and imitate. Thus, it is crucial that parents use financial problems and tight budgets to address finances and to teach children how to manage their money at the dinner table. Teenage children will also earn a weekly or monthly allowance in budget preparation. Secondly, school curriculum are plenty of academic subjects which requires strenuous effort and full- time concentration; therefore, it is unnecessary for teachers at school to teach students the right way to control the budgets. For example, skills for money management seems to be overlooked if it is added to the current study program which focus on main courses such as math, literature and English. Although it is a valid point, on the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to be acknowledged of financial orientation at school because the following rationales. Firstly, children will possibly learn the meaning of financial responsibility through the integrated lessons. For example, moral subject, there are stories that mention characters with insatiable appetite for money, in this way, students can earn the life lesson and reflect themselves to behave well. Or, math period is a case in this point, they are taught to calculate their money and use it appropriately. Secondly, money management should be taught at school as opposed to at home, because today parents are not assured in their ability to teach financial literacy to their children. Many parents themselves haven't ever learned important financial values much less to teach children how to use their budget properly; to make the matter worse, bad financial habits may be passed on to their children. In addition, learning money management at school is methodically built so that it is more reliable for students to acquire and to be able to adapt into the real life. For the aforementioned above, it seems to me that students are more likely to be successful in the future if they are taught they way to handle money and financial at school rather than in the family.