Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

People generally believe that vegetarianism has both health and environmental benefits. I do agree with this view, but I do not think that vegetarianism is for everyone. Animal consumption indeed has both health and environment consequences. For instance, a pound of meat takes twice the amount of natural resources to produce when compared to vegetables. Also, animals have to be raised and butchered to obtain the product. This process is not only cruel but also generated huge amounts of greenhouse gases. Additionally, farmed animals are injected with growth hormones and steroids to increase their yield and when consumed, it causes unwanted body ailments. For these reasons, switching to vegetarianism and cutting down on meat consumption will benefit the whole world. However, on the other hand, vegetables cannot be grown in extreme climate regions. For people who live in these regions, they tend to depend on animal products. Additionally, vegetables wouldn't be able to provide enough calories and fat to survive the harsh climatic conditions. For example, people who live in the arctic region tend to consume more fatty food as their bodies need this fat to generate heat to maintain metabolism. Even if vegetables are available in those regions, people prefer to eat meat as vegetable does not contain enough fat to stay healthy. Moreover, culture also plays an important role in the consumption of animal products. For instance, middle eastern dishes use beef as their main ingredient, and it would not be complete without the beef. To conclude, even though there are advantages of being a vegetarian. I believe that this food is not for everyone. However, in my opinion, people should try to consume food that uses less natural resources. This way an effort can be made to improve the health and reduce the greenhouse emissions