Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Some people think that their food should not contain meat and fish, as such food is bad for their health and detrimental to the universe. While I accept that saying no to meat is beneficial to some extent, in my opinion, it is not a suitable idea because few nutrients, which are essential for humans, are only obtainable from such sources. On the individual level, they claim that meat is poor for their health because it contains hazardous chemicals. Since the digestive system of animals is not efficient enough to eradicate such toxic chemicals from their body properly, its consumption by humans will eventually lead to severe diseases, such as cancer of the digestive system or colon. They also think that constantly using animals, as a source of food, means that those particular species will eventually diminish from the face of the globe. As each animal plays an important role in the stabilization of the whole ecosystem, its disturbance will have severe consequences on the lives of humans too. In spite of the arguments above, my point of view is that fauna and water bodies are useful for Homo sapiens because they are the rich source of beneficial proteins and vitamins which are required for the human body to function properly. For example, research conducted in Oxford university shows that beef and tuna fish are essential for the human body as they contain high value of Vitamin B and C. If these nutrients do not obtain from these sources, functioning of the human body will be affected, particularly of liver and kidney. In conclusion, while some individuals believe that using animals for one’s food is not beneficial for their health and world also, I disagree with this idea because of the above-mentioned reason.