Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, a lot of people are becoming vegetarians. They argue that this is for the betterment of their health and also claims to be beneficial for the whole world. I completely agree with this statement. On the one hand, many are of the opinion that eating fish and meat is essential for human body. They say that all the nutrients are not available in vegetables and grains and hence it is necessary to eat meat. For instance, even though Vitamin D is readily available from sun light, the only other alternatives are fishes like salmon and oyster and no other vegetable can give this. It is also said that inorder to maintain the life cycle of all species, it is essential to eat meat to balance the eco-system. On the other hand, I personally believe that following a vegetarian diet will cause no harm to us. Although, as mentioned above, few nutrients are said to be present only in the meat, alternatives are available for everything. For example, Vitamin D is present in fortified milk. Also, science has improved so much that suppliments are readily available and hence people who are non-meat eaters will not have any health issues. Besides this, a lot of unwanted fat and cholestrol are present in majority of non-vegetarian food items like pork and beef this in turn causes a lot of diseases including heart failure. Another major reason is that it takes a long time for the meat to decompose which will naturally affect our environment. To conclude, healthy food habits are essential to have a stable mind and body. Even though many claim that eating non-begetarian food is a must, I am on the side that it is not mandatory since a vegetarian can also get the same amount of nutrients as others.