Many people believe that social networking sites ( such as Facebook) have had a huge impact on both individuals and society.

It is believed by several people that social networking sites for instance Facebook have had a detrimental effect on both individuals and the community. Although, I believe that such sites are beneficial to an individual, I also agree that it has a damaging effect on the society. Admittedly, with regards to individuals, social networking sites have clear advantages. Firstly, it brings people from several countries together. These days, people have the opportunity to make friends with individuals from different Nationalities, as compared to previous years where friendship was only based with those within one's local circle. For instance, a Nigerian youth, who utilizes Facebook can make friends with people from America, Australia and so on. Secondly, it creates an avenue for advertisement. This is so because people are free to advertise their products and services, thereby reaching a higher percentage of prospective customers as compared to physical adverts. For instance, an entrepreneur who sells shoes and uploads it on her timeline, different individuals would see the post, hence, there would be prospective buyers. On the other hand, effect of Facebook on the community can be seen as negative. Social networking results in isolation, because these days people spend a lot of time online, and neglects those in the community. Also, the societal bond is becoming disjointed as a result of Facebook, some individuals would rather prefer to engage with people they may never see rather than create bonds with people in the society. To illustrate, in a campus students had a group task, some students preferred to engage in Facebook group discussion. However, others met face to face, therefore, those who had a physical meeting performed better. In conclusion, although Facebook has brought individuals closer to people from other countries, it has created social isolation in the society.