Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

In the recent times, Vegetarianism is becoming a popular choice worldwide. For decades it has been argued that a vegetarian diet not only leads to decreased health problems but also provides humans a pollution free environment to live in. This essay will discuss both purposes and explain why I believe vegetarianism is a great approach for a healthy life along with making this world a better place. A meat free diet provides benefits of balanced nutrition along with reduced risks of cardiovascular issues. Vegetarian diets are extremely rich in fibre, essential vitamins and unsaturated fats, making food easy to digest. On the contrary, animal meat generally consists of complex proteins taking longer time to digest. Moreover, red meat is expected to increase cholesterol levels leading to multiple heart problems and increased blood pressure. For example, as per the latest study conducted by Harvard Business School, for individually following a vegetarian diet, risk of heart attack is reduced by 60%. Given the profound benefits of vegetarian food, it is increasing likely for a larger population to experiment going meat less in the near future. In today's world, meat processing industry is one of the largest pollutants in the world. The waste generated from these industries is let out in the water bodies causing a danger to the marine life. For instance, In 2018, due to increase in discharge of wastes in the lake, Port Douglas region witnessed deterioration of the quality of corals along with reduced species of seafood. Moreover, the slaughtering houses also increase the emission of green house gases, which in turn is leading to global warming. Overall, the meat industry will continue to pose these challenges and engage people in thinking about their dietary choices. To conclude, considering the benefits of health and environment, meat free diet will surely be a way of life for many. In my opinion, a small step towards vegetarianism could go a long way in creating a healthy life and a safe planet.