Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Drug Abuse has become a topic of serious concern in recent times. The reason for widespread usage of drugs is mainly recreation and more autonomy and it can have harmful effects on health and relationships. In this essay we will discuss these aspects and try to provide reasonable solutions to this problem. Two main reasons for the growing misuse of chemical substances can be stated. First and foremost, most of these drugs are used for recreational purposes. They are common among youngsters at parties and gathering because they seek pleasure and enjoyment through them. For example, a substance called ‘ecstasy’ is known to cause an elevated mood. Secondly, people have become more independent, and with no one to look out for them, they are prone to be tempted towards drug addiction. Over time, repeated use of recreational drugs can have serious consequences. Firstly, it can have detrimental effects on health, ranging from minor changes in sensation to lethal outcomes like death. For instance, meth is known to cause death by stopping the heart from functioning. Moreover, drug addicts are known to become inconsiderate towards their relations, and this leads to a breakdown in their families and social life because of the negative impact it has on the people around them. To address this issue, the general public should be educated and informed about the harms of such a practice. Safe usage of medication should be emphasized. In addition, rehabilitation centres should be established for people fighting addiction so that they can obtain proper guidance and help in tackling this situation. In conclusion, increasing trend of recreational usage of drugs and lack of surveillance contributes towards the menace of addiction and it can lead to serious health issues and can destroy relationships. Authorities can tackle this situation by mass education and creation of rehabilitation facilities for the affected people.