Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole.

Some people believe that it is essential to abstain from eating meat and fish to protect our health and furthermore, ensure the world's environment is kept safe. Although I agree that it is unwise to eat excessive amounts of animal flesh, nature has its rules which cannot be changed by people’s eating habits. In my opinion the disadvantage of vegetarianism is this, important proteins we need to maintain our overall health are not found in vegetables or fruits alone. Therefore, necessary proteins, also safe fats and oils, are only contained in, as examples, namely, beef, pork and oily sea-fish. Besides, nowadays most edible meat comes from domestic livestock reared exclusively to provide food for people, so it does not affect the balance of nature. The natural food chain will not face harm because of our normal diet. However, looking at this matter from another point of view, it is reasonable for us firstly, to ration our consumption of food obtained from animals. It is a well-known fact, eating less meat and more vegetables are beneficial to our health. We can get balanced nutrition from different varieties of cuisine. Of course, we must consider some people kill precious species for high sums of money, for instance to satisfy the needs for certain mixtures of traditional medicines as well as for dinner tables. If more people want to eat rare mammals and sea-life, then these creatures would face the risk of extinction, if that were to happen, there may well be a chain reaction which could result in serious damage to environments around the world. In conclusion, my opinion is this, we do not need to refuse animal or seafood, but reduce and alter our diets. Eating them within a limit is the best way to improve our own welfare and protect the world.