Prompt: Nowadays people rely on social media to get news. Why they do it? Is it a positive or negative trend?

These days our access to information is greater than ever thanks in large part to our connection to the internet. Many of us use this connectivity to keep abreast of the local and global events via social media. This essay will delve into this phenomenon, elucidating the key reasons why people do this as well as its positive and negative impacts. There is an array of reasons why people turn to social media for their news, but the most obvious ones are speed and convenience. Whereas newspapers require at least a day to produce, given the time and effort needed to write, edit, publish and deliver, apps like Twitter and Facebook can be updated instantly. In this fast-paced world, the ability to have access to the very latest information is compelling. Added to this fact that we carry these apps around on our phones, even on our watches these days, it is clear that digital media news services trump traditional sources. This is especially true for younger generations who are accustomed to receiving everything 'on demand'. Although being informed about what is going on in our world is generally positive, accessing this news via social media can be problematic sometimes. Certainly, as a result of the proliferation of digital devices, people are now much more aware of local and global issues. We can see in real-time, for instance, that traffic is blocked by a protest in our city centre, or that a political party has won an election in another country. The problem, however, is that as social media is getting increasingly personalized, we tend to be served only the news that appeal to us. If you are politically left-wing, you will probably only be encountering stories that suit your beliefs. In this way, we are blocked from engaging with views contrary to ours, which can give rise to intolerance, prejudice and ignorance. In conclusion, people use social media to follow the news because it is an easy way to stay informed about issues that matter to us. While this is valuable, there is also a risk that we see only what the app decides to show us, possibly limiting our view of the world.