Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would say rehabilitation is its primary role.

It is considered by sone that incarceration is prime motive of penalizing, whereas others say, to reintegrate criminals back into society has a major role to play. I think it should depend on the nature of the crime being committed. On the one hand, punishment acts as a deterrent for people, which prevents them from committing crimes. In other words, it instills fear among them as they think twice before doing and illegal activities. Consequently, it helps to make society crime free. For instance, in South Arabia, there are stringent penalties for the law breakers, owing to which, least number of crimes have reported there. Therefore, in order to make societ a safer place, the policy of zero tolerance should be implemented. On the other hand, these people assert that fundamental motive of punishment is to change the psyche of offenders and make them a part of mainstream. Crimes are sometimes committed in certain circumstances where people often find them helpless. A report published by a non-governmemtal agency has portrayed that small crimes such as theft, stealing are mostly happened due to poverty. It is therefore putting such people on probation period is better approach in order to make them better individuals. In conclusion, basic purpose no doubt is to make delinquents better citizens, however, crimes are sometimes premeditated, henious and depraved, which are surely unpardonable. In such a scenario, imprisonment is essential, otherwise, it would lead to more crime in community. Therefore, the nature of the crime should be prime consideration.