Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while other would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role.

The purpose of jails is always in a high debate and many thinks that they exist for the correction of criminals. However, others believe that they are there for disciplining the perpetrators. Although both of these perspectives have their own reasons but, in my opinion, they should be there as an opportunity for wrong doers to rehabilitate themselves. Undoubtedly, there are various reasons for the confinements to be a place for punishment. Firstly, there are various crimes in the society which are very serious in nature such as murder and rape and the person who carry out these heinous crimes should not get a chance to be released in the society again. If they are allowed to roam in the community without being punished, then they could repeat the crime for the second time. Moreover, if the convicts are chastised then it sets an example for the future generation so that they learn what happens if someone chooses a wrong path. On the other hand, the purpose of prison is also to correct the offenders and there are various explanations behind this. Primarily, people should always get option for amendments because most of the times people are in the path of crime due to the circumstances they face in their harsh life and eventually they go against the rule. For instance, motives behind most of the theft and robberies that comes to the court are often due to poverty. Additionally, it is also not very certain that the punishment changes person but could even become more devastating. There are lot of instances where criminals behind bars getting more violent than before due to disciplinary action they get during that time. In conclusion, while there are many reasons which presents the role of confinement as a chastising house, I believe that people should always get a second chance to alter themselves because there could be countless motives which drives these people toward incorrect path.