Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish while other would argue that rehabilitation is as primary role.

Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish while other would argue that rehabilitation is as primary role. Discuss both and give your opinion. Certain individuals think that the main reason for sentencing people to jail is for punishment and others believe that the major reason for going, is for rehabilitating criminals. Both of these views will be discuss in this essay and I strongly disagree with the sentence which says criminals are imprisoned to pay for their bad deeds. To begin with, offenders are not only sent to prison for punishment only but also, to learn some vocational training in prison. Lot of people have gained to be self reliance after coming out. As this will help them to earn a living. Some of these criminals are not gainfully employed and this prompt them in pocket picking and stealing. However, during the period they are serving their terms, they can learn work such as shoe making, barbing salon to mention a few. By the time they are through they become productivity. Hence, this make them a good citizens of the nation. Furthermore, going to prison help children to understand how to behave properly in the community. For instance, a child that is implicated by bad friends influence and he is punished for crime he did not commit will certainly know the kind of people he will associate with when he is released in jail. On the other hand, as believed by others that prison is met strictly for rehabilitating criminals, it will also help them during their time behind bar. Government law and enforcement agencies visit offenders in prison. They are enlightened about the laws and orders of the land. As, ignorance is not a defence to some crime. Such as, crossing the high way instead of using the pedestrian bridge. When such a person is persecuted he will definitely know do not it again. In addition, religious faith basis like the Christian and Muslim sometimes pay them visit. By preaching to inmates, this help to elevate their mood and mind by having faith in their creator that one day they will leave alive. In conclusion, prison is not only for punishment of criminals but also to aid them In having a productive life after completing term. similarly, as opined by other that going to prison is majorly for rehabilitation, it help to have knowledge about how things are done in the society.