Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

With the growing population and fast moving world, transportation and traffic are a routine issue to be faced. Everyone will have different views on it, few think better railways can be a good solution while few insists on building wider road to reduce the congestion. Broadening of roads will make the vehicles to get accommodated easily in the congested road and hence can reduce the time of waiting in the traffic signals. Take a main road and a street for a comparison, compared to traffic in small streets, traffics in main roads are easy to be managed since the roads are large enough to hold the number of vehicles. Commuting will be easy since private vehicles can be used, so that people can travel to the exact point where they want to go instead of taking number of public transports to reach the destination. While this is one side, trains makes the commute faster and quicker. Growing technologies have given us robust railway systems which can move so faster, that miles can be covered within minutes. This leads to save much of the time. People had never failed choose railways for the better commuting. While both have their own positives, one of the major concerns in roadways is again, how much ever we are extending the road, vehicle count only going to increase and it cannot be controlled. Again, this will lead to only traffic. Instead if investments are given for railways, it would essentially help in increase the connectivity with speedy transportation. I therefore prefer to invest in constructing newer railways than extending the roads.