Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is irrefutably true that, these days, companies are examining various strategies such as sponsoring sports events to increase their sales. While sports sponsorship is considered an efficient marketing tool for companies to promote products and increase their sales, others think in a different way, and attribute a number of problems with such an attitude. To bolster the former opinion, I believe that this practice is not only beneficial to the companies but also brings considerable advantageous to sports committees and players. Analyzing the ability of funding sports events to both boosting sales’s rates of the companies and providing financial support for players with demonstrate this. To commence with, sports sponsorship is widely acknowledged as a lucrative industry across the globe, providing mutual benefits for both the market players: the company and the their objective society. While the company gets a golden opportunity to access a wider community of potential customers, in a more comprehensive way, to promote their products and, thus, increase their sales, it allows sports committees and organisations develop infrastructure in other places and help the players financially. For example, Hyundai, who was the sponsor of the last World Cup football matches, invested billions of dollars in sponsoring the event, reported a record high in its sales’s turnover rate after the seasons. Meanwhile, the International Volleyball Committee launched a new project to develop Volleyball in low-income countries. On the contrary, it is believed by some individuals that advertising commercial goods through sports events is actually a deceptive way of promoting a company’s products. With increased commercialization of the athletics and other sports activities, there is a higher chance of sportsmanship corruption. Moreover, sports sponsorship is widely considered to the leading cause of impulsive buying, as it encourages ordinary people to purchase commodities which they rarely use them in their daily lives. In conclusion, while there might be some drawbacks associated with funding sports events may introduce some, I strongly believe that this strategy is more beneficial for both the two sides of the market. Of course, controversial issues and conflicts of interests can be avoided if the companies sell quality products and sports teams play honestly, without involving in any corruption such as match-fixing and bribery.