Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

It is important to find out how the increasing congestion on roads can be reduced. While some people believe that to mitigate this issue the authorities should invest in the construction of more and multiple lane roads, I along with many others, opine that building train and subway lines is a more effective way to reduce traffic. On the one hand, some people support the construction of additional pathways and the widening of the existing ones because of multiple reasons. First, with the availability of alternative paths, the travellers can take the less congested ways and thus reduce the jams on the main roads. Secondly, by increasing the count of lanes, the slow and fast-moving vehicles can have a different lane for their smooth movement. To exemplify, after the development of NH-8 six-lane Noida-Gurgaon Highway the daily ongoing traffic has been reduced to 30%. However, this solution is less effective as gradually it can increase the number of cars, bikes and buses on the roads. On the flip side, some people assert that building train and tube lanes are more beneficial for mitigating the problem of traffic and I fully agree with this view. This is because metro lanes, underground pathways and local train lines are the fastest and convenient services as they can not only cover longer distances in a short span of time but also accommodate a larger number of passengers in comparison to cars and buses. Also, if commuters avail of these services on a daily basis, then there will be a significant reduction of vehicles on the roads. For instance, with the introduction of subway metro lines in New Delhi, 60% of road congestion was reduced in the last 2 years. In conclusion, although wider and multiple roads can reduce the traffic to some extent, in my opinion, to remedy this issue train and subway lines are quintessential as these are fast and can carry a large number of passengers leading to less road congestion.