Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

Opinions are divided on whether by spending money on building train and subway lines, government can lower traffic congestion or whether traffic jam will be decreased by focusing on building more and wider roads. While I understand why some people support the former view, I am still in favor of the later. People who believe that the traffic jam can be declined if authority invests money in public transportations have several arguments. From their point of view, this mode of transportation can carry a lot of passengers at the same time, so it can help reduce the number of people on streets. Another point to be made is CO2 emission from private means is more than the public transports. Therefore, accessing public transport will improve the air quality and limit pollution. Nevertheless, I still side with those who believe building more and wider roads helps lessen the traffic problem. This is due to the fact that the number of road accidents has gone up annually as the large number of the holes in the road’s surface. Thus, the ministry should use money for improving the quality of the road to ensure the safety of people. Another reason to be given is that widening and constructing new streets can bring many benefits. There will create more spaces for means of transport, so it helps reduce the transport congestion. In conclusion, despite acknowledging why people think traffic congestion will be diminished by developing more on public transportations, I hold the belief it is better to concentrate on establishing more and broaden roads.