Some people believe that women should be treated as equal to men when applying for a job with police or military. Other think that women are less suitable for this kind of job.

According to some people, women should be given equal importance as men for job applications such as military whereas others believe that women are less capable of doing this kind of jobs. In my opinion, gender shouldn’t be a factor while choosing the right candidate and women possess more abilities as compared to men in any field. Women should be given opportunities to showcase their talent to join the national defence as compared to men. To begin with, women are actively taking part in swimming, karate, weightlifting and depicts the competitive nature comparatively. This shows their mental and physical strength which is the utmost importance when joining the police force or military. For instance, a majority of games in the Olympics such as shooting, wrestling are played by women and have won medals in the respective field, highly encouraging other women for participation. Thus, women should be considered equal to men, even if the job application is for defending the country. Some people think that women are not capable to carry out certain jobs due to various reasons. Firstly, people believe that physical strength is vital to become a police officer or join military and women have less stamina for the job. For example, while catching a thief, law enforcement officer needs to run fast to get hold of the burglar. Secondly, few women prefer to stay at home and look after their toddler or in laws, whereas some women are intrigued by the corporate jobs. Thus, working as police or in the military should totally depend on the women herself rather than judging her physical power. To conclude, while some opinion may vary, I have a firm conviction that women should be treated equally as compared to men and jobs to serve the nation should be offered to the suitable candidate irrespective of the gender.