Some people believe that women should be treated as equal to men when applying for a job with police or the military. Others think women are less suitable for this kind of job.

There is no doubt that women nowadays are playing an increasingly significant role in our society, in particular by taking up employment in sectors which were mainly male dominated. While some are of the opinion that women are not suited for police or military forces, I would agree that they should be given an equal chance. Many believe that woman cannot be employed in defence force. This is because arguably, the female does not have the strength and stamina for such a strenuous job. For instance, in sport competitions, the difference in physical strength is obvious. Some men can run faster and stronger than their female counterparts. Consequently, people on this view think that a woman’s place is better at doing stereotypical work such as being a teacher or a carer. However, I believe that women should be given the opportunity to participate in the police or military forces. The reason for this is that women possess other attributes that can be of benefits to those sectors. For instance, a woman is likely to be more inclined to being nurturing and caring; such traits are ideal for female medics in the army. Moreover, a female presence is more appropriately in certain circumstances. A fitting example is that in the airport, a policewoman should be check female passenger for security matter. Thus, this builds more trust and imparts a sense of security to the test taker. In my opinion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however I tend to believe that women should be able to participate equally in defence forces as they have other traits and qualities that men do not possess.