Some people believe that women should be treated as equal as men when applying for a job with police or the military. Others think women are less suitable for this kind of job.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is giving equal employment opportunity to women by recruiting them as a member of police force as well as in the country's military. As such there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the latter outdo the former. There are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that the female does not have the strength and stamina required for such a strenuous job. Not only can oestrogen hormones in women make them less capable of achieving their goal in these jobs, making them less powerful than men physically, but it can also make them emotionally less fitted than men when to handling difficult situations such as facing severely injured people or horrible accident scenes. Needless to say, all these disadvantages have far-reaching impact on the country's security. There are, however, some benefits that can easily overwhelm the potential pitfalls of employing women in police and military force. The primary one stems from the fact that women possess nurturing and caring attributes that can be of benefit and ideal as medics in the army. Besides, females hired in police force play an important role in those societies where males are restricted to touch females. Last but not least the rights for ladies to choose their profession would widen the spectrum of job availability and they would also earn and serve their country by joining such kind of honourable services. In view of the argument outlined above, one can conclude that despite some benefits the drawbacks of women applying for job with police or military force are indeed too dire to ignore.