Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behavior. What is your opinion?

Some people argue that violence on television and in computer games would affect the society in a harmful manner, while others take the view that these factors do not have any significant effects on the behaviour of the individuals. The violent content put out in the world does affect people sometimes to an extreme level where it motivates people to hurt others even more than usual, that being said, it does not instill ideas on the ones that, originally, do not have any intentions to hurt others. The programs that are being put on television should take measures, such that they do not include extreme violence. Individuals who does not have any plans on hurting others, but rather, they are not mentally stable or have been through certain situations, then, such violent programs or video games might trigger them into having thoughts to hurt others. For instance, a real life crime involves two girls at young ages, around 11 years old, and they were insipred to murder a friend of theirs, because they were affected by a comic which revolves around a fictional character, namely, the slender man. On the contrary, currently, such violent video games are being played by millions of people all around the world and the majority of them have not inflicted any kind of harm onto others. Hence, it is arguable that, they do not affect the entire society in a negative manner, just a few ones. But the harm done by these few individuals is extreme. However, if people are exposed to such violent actions, they might learn from them, as a result, gain awareness and take their own protective measures and be careful. In conclusion, the violence depicted in the media does not have dangerous effects on the society, rather, it affects the ones who are not mentally normal, and it gives those kinds of people more ideas and might intensify the damages that they might have caused, in the absence of such violence in our current media. Therefore, in my opinion, they do not significantly affect the society.