Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

These days, the amount of cruelty in media is growing. While some people argue that this trend will undoubtedly lead humans to dangerous future, others claim that it has no damaging effect on the society. However, it can be argued in this essay that in most cases, media violence doesn't affect people's behaviour. Firstly, it appears that some people think that violent media accustoms viewer to cruelty. The reason is that they believe that people copy actions they see on TV, but I doubt this opinion. In my view, People act from their motives, regardless what they see on the television. Reasonable and intelligent people treat others humanely irrespective of what they see or hear in fictional stories. For example, if someone intends to do harm to somebody, that is not because of watching TV or playing computer games, but due to that person's character and educational background. Moreover, video games and television may even reduce anti-social behaviour by providing a safe outlet for aggressiveness. In other words, truculent people may fight in virtual reality instead of dragging innocent people in their sick real world. For instance, a recent study has shown that playing video games had a positive effect on reducing the level of social brutality in long-term perspective. This kind of data gives a robust support against the negative claims. Finally, despite many claims and assumptions about the negative effects of television and computer games, but these claims cannot be considered as there are no any proven surveys or scientific studies that connect between violent media and illegal activities in social life. Taking everything into consideration, I would say that brutality in contemporary media has no substantial influence on people's behaviour. Television and computers are not the main factors that shape personal character, and they can even be useful in reducing the level of violence.