Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

The time we live in is being called the Entertainment Age—and rightly so. It's becoming increasingly difficult to walk into a room that doesn't have some sort of screen in it. In fact, every one of us carries a mini entertainment device on-person everywhere we go, in the form of a cell phone. The available content varies, but one trend that's part of most programmes is violence. But is violence on television and in video games actually causing us harm? The argument in favour of this theory is simple—people watch someone being violent, and then they themselves are encouraged to cause violence. There has been some research to support this theory, where participants were selected from a group of criminals and their activity prior to incarceration was studied. However, such studies have never had a control group, and hence do not paint a true picture of the phenomenon. In my opinion, the idea that 'watching violence incites violence' has no leg to stand on. On a daily basis, billions of people watch action movies where the hero takes down a group of villains with a machine gun. Millions play competitive games where the objective is to kill the opposing team in the cleverest way possible. But the number of people who perform violent acts in real life? Less than a single percent of that figure. Furthermore, there has never been any direct link established between violence on screen and violence in real life. One researcher went as far as to say, "You're about as likely to take a life because of watching someone else do it on TV, as you are to fly to the moon after watching the Moon Landing. " It's not difficult to understand where the idea originates. Humans, by nature, are concerned about the safety of the ones they love. Any threat to them, however remote, starts to feel significant when it could ruin an otherwise peaceful life. Be that as it may, people should accept these things as a 'doubt', rather than a 'threat', till such time as they can confirm it. I truly hope that, in the future, people are made aware of the fact that violence on screen doesn't translate to real violence. After all, no one enjoys being worried. And this is certainly a topic not worth worrying about.