Some people say industrial growth is necessary to solve poverty, others say industrial growth creates environmental problems.

Some people may argue that industrial rise plays a crucial role in reducing poverty. Others may sustain the point of view that industrial growth can harm the environment and, therefore, should not be encouraged. In my opinion, the disadvantages of industrial growth outweigh the advantages. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, one may argue that industrial rise can assist in the poverty reduction because of the new jobs that will be generated. In other words, with more industries, new jobs will be created in order to provide all the necessary labor for the companies. Therefore, unemployed persons, which may be in a vulnerable situation without any salary, could get a job that would, consequently, improve their lives. In these cases, poverty would be reduced based on industrial growth. On the other hand, more industries would require more raw material and would produce more industrial waste. Both cases have a direct impact on the environment. In the former case, the need for more raw material could lead to severe problems related to the environment, such as deforestation and aggressive mining. In the latter case, the waste produced by the industries could result in more pollution of the air and the water, which is directly related to global warming and climate change. Hence, in both scenarios, the environment would hardly suffer from all the industrial waste. In conclusion, although the industrial growth may assist in the reduction of poverty, I believe that the disadvantages overcome the benefits, given that the environment and the planet would hardly suffer from the consequences.