Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

It is argued by some that volunteering must be made mandatory in the education system. This essay completely agrees with the view that it ought to be indispensable if it is a part of the school curriculum. Firstly, this essay will discuss how it enhances the intellectual skills and secondly, analysis the importance of getting a job. Working for a charity helps to develop soft skills. What is more important to excel is by improving the intellectual skills, such as team building, problem-solving, and concept formation and not restricting with academic knowledge. To illustrate this, a survey conducted in IBM, Bangalore in 2016, showed that the performance of employees, who have taken such programmes, were distinct from those who did not indulge in such activities. In addition, confining with the subjects, namely maths and science, in the school curriculum will curb the lateral thinking capacity. Another point to consider is the experience that added value in building the profile in finding a better career prospect. This is because in the competitive job market one has to sell their skills in fetching a suitable occupation for a comfortable living.  For instance, National Credit Corps certification is considered as one of the desired qualifications in getting a few government jobs like in the Army. However, by learning only technical and traditional subjects will also acquire a decent career. In conclusion, unpaid work has to be made essential in the school curriculum because of the importance of compounding the additional skills with academic knowledge and finding a job for a better living.