In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is usually believed that in some parts of the world, many people are living alone compared to the past. This essay would argue that this is a positive development because these people prefer to be independent and this helps to reduce the cost of housing. One reason why some people like to live alone as they don’t want their opinions to be restricted by family members. This reduces the stress of having any difference of opinion from housemates and instead the time could be saved to get involved in other activities. To illustrate this, a recent report in The Business Weekly magazine stated that the number of people who live alone indulge them to work out in the gym has increased by 58% because of their free time and thereby resulting in a healthy lifestyle. In the past, the family bonding was given priority because parents were the source of wisdom for their children’, however, this has changed in the contemporary world. Another reason to consider the people living alone is that this reduces the housing cost. This is to say people do not require to invest in buying a luxurious property. A person can either live in a shared apartment or stay in one-bedroom serviced accommodation and this money saved could be used for some other purposes. This eventually reduces the price of the land value in urban areas. For example, The Times reported that the construction of housing buildings was likely to be reduced by 32% due to sharing the flat when compared to a decade ago. In conclusion, many people live alone is beneficial because of the freedom of other members ideas and reduced cost spend on housing.