some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children)

Whilst a sector of the society is of the view that free community service ought to be mandatory in the high school curriculum, others have a diverse perspective. I am a staunch believer that the former point of view has a plethora of demerits to the students and to the unemployment percentage in the country. In the following lines, the justification for my claim will be further discussed. To begin with, implementing community service programmes to the students has two quintessential drawbacks. This is because the more the youth spend their time improving their country, the more they get distracted from their studies. For instance, as per an article published by The Guardian, around 35% of the British students, who have to work for charity organizations as a study program, get lower marks than their peers at the same class. Not only do the charity activities waste the youngster's time, but it also soar the stress they face during the school days. This reflects that applying compulsory services to the children will negatively affect their educational progress. In addition to this, it may have a negative impact on the employability. Whilst the minority of the children may get some experience from these activities, this may upsurge the employment competition, for the new generations conduct work for free. This is exemplified by a research study conducted by one of the pundits in the field of economy; the findings of the study have revealed that the vast majority of governments that have applied free society services by its senior school students, suffer from an obvious recession, and they will draft a law to reverse this step. This accentuates the concept that free services, which is achieved by students, have a hazardous impact on the economy of these countries. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that free work services have a negative influence on the students' academic progress and on the economic stability of the country. In the light of this, I am of the belief that students should opt for conducting charity activities if they have free time.