Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

There is a view that free volunteer work should be made mandatory as part of the school curriculum for the teenagers. In my opinion, this is could be a positive initiative as it teaches the youngsterws empathy and inculcate a skillset which is helpful for their personal and professional development. Partcipating in the activities which are for the larger good of the community, helps the adolescent growing mind to become empathetic to the issues and challenges faced by the underserved sections of the society. When they are working for charitable causes, they are presented with the opportunities to understand and interact closely with these communities. This provides first hand insights which inspire their world view. A recent study conducted by Advanced School Association, suggested that a boy or girl involved in social service is more likely to be empathetic as compared to the one with no such exposure. Another positive aspect of volunteering is that it helps youngsters in developing social skills to manage and collaborate with people from all walks of life. This contributes immensely to their own personal as well as career growth as they will be able to demonstrate experience of working closely with the different communities. Moreover, all the employers also see this experience positively and prefer such candidates. According to a survey conducted by LinkedIn on advantages of volunteer experience, most of the takers responded that this equipped them with the ability to team up effectively with the people from different backgrounds and provided an edge over others. In conclusion, I reiterate that social work as part of educational experience would help the school goers immensely in developing much needed and critical personal and professional characteristics and would inspire them to be good citizens of the society.