Recently, it is not common for people to know their neighbours. What is the cause of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the past, maintaining a good relationship with the neighbours were really important. Previous generations believed that becoming a part of society was a must. However, people nowadays rarely know their neighbours. In this essay, I shall provide some potential causes of this phenomenon and give my opinion regarding the necessary course of actions to solve this issue. To begin with, there are several causes of this issue. First, the development of technology changes the way people communicate to each other and also makes people less dependent towards the society. For example, previous generations ask for their neighbours’ help whenever they got into a problem, but the current generation prefers to surf on the internet to get the necessary information. Another example is young people nowadays spend their leisure time on their gadgets playing mobile games or streaming some videos. In contrast, elderly generations had to find a rival to play board games, for instance, in real life. Nonetheless, human-beings are also social creature. We have to encourage young people to be a part of the neighbourhood society. I am certain that by forming some local communities that has interesting creative activities can solve this issue. Building a free co-working space around the neighbourhood area can attract adolescents to work and spend their leisure time there. In conclusion, the current generation does not share the same value with elderly people because of the development of new technologies. I believe, forming some local communities which provoke the creative sides of young people can rebuild the awareness to get to know the neighbours and maintain the relationship with them.