Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To a certain extent I agree that, only governments and big firms will result huge difference on the environment. However, i believe that, people also play a significant role in improving its standards. And, i will state my reasons as follows. On the one hand, as we all know that, a large proportion of pollutants are discharged into water bodies or landfills by industries. Firstly, governments have capability of making the new laws for protection and conservation of Earth. This policies exert pressure on companies to follow up further to reduce ecological damage. For instance, mostly all nations passed a bill to ban the plastic bags usage, which are circulated by the shopping malls and the grocery stores to individuals and also promoting heavily about reusable products and its benefits to globe. In addition to this, governing bodies must and should moniter those rules and regulations on pollutants, and imposing huge penalities on violation could create impact even more. Lastly, companies which employ techonological innovations in its production units could bring down chemical residues and their dichargement into ponds or river streams. Therefore, those new adoptations can limit the exploitation of natural resources and also them as "go green" icons among industries. On the other hand, i also think that, people has had to play pivotle role in construction of the pollution free environment. The reason is that, household waste constitutes various types namely degradebale, non-degradable and hazardous materials. The individuals as consumers purchase wide range of products, which are packed by polymers such as plastics which is non-degradable. Therefore, people could reduces the waste by knowing about types of polutants and carefully choose what to buy or not and reuse them again. In conclusion, both governments and large companies does majority of work in improving environmental standards by making laws and adopting innovations respectively. Nonetheless, citizens also play significant role in protecting nature from pollution with adoptation of reduce, reuse and recycle methodology. With combination all these three bodies could produce effective results.