Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (<em>for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children</em>).

One of the most controversial issues today relates to whether the high school should include the unpaid community service compulsorily as part of the programmes. Many parents are of the opinion that it will be beneficial to the students when they work for a charity and improving the neighbourhood, just to name some examples. Personally, I am convinced that community service should be part of high school programmes for several reasons. There are a handful of advantages that community service brings to the youngsters. To begin, it helps the teenagers to develop an excellent interpersonal skill. Admittedly, it is more valuable to do the unpaid social work than staying at home playing with electronic devices. It provides teenagers with an avenue to socialise with others, encourage them to exchange their thoughts with people of the same interest. It is indirectly helping them to develop the crucial socialising skill which plays an indispensable role in their studies and their prospective job. They will be benefited by learning how to communicate with people around us and respect other's opinions. In short, community service will benefit the students by giving them an opportunity to meet new friends and thus widen their friend cycle. Apart from that, teenagers will be more patient and have higher endurance after working for the community service. To illustrate, when they teach the younger children about sports, they are actually learning the value of being more patient which cannot be learnt from textbooks. To pick up this good value, it can only be acquired through practising. On the other hand, teaching children about sports is proven to be an effective way of destressing. In the twenty-first century, even citizen including student is becoming more stressful than in the past. Thus, they can keep their mind off from their studies when doing something not related to their academic studies like community service. To put in a nutshell, community service can educate the youngsters to be more patient which is essential in dealing with troubles. In conclusion, I think that community service should be implemented in the high school programmes as there are numerous advantages of carrying out community service. Our nation will continue to prosper and flourish if there are more well-educated individuals being raised.