Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

Nowadays, many high schools make community service an optional element of students’ curriculums. However, whereas many people think that this unpaid service should be a mandatory part of the syllabus, I would argue that, while it is helpful, it should remain the students’ choice. To begin with, one of the significant benefits of the community service for high school students is that such work prepares them for the world outside of education. This is because students who have no awareness of what the working world is like may be overwhelmed when it finally comes around. For instance, a student who has experience of caring for the aged which is one of the typical community service task will be more able to adapt to the needs of elderly customers in a working role than who does not. Thus, these services make students more confident about life after school. Nevertheless, it is vital that the community service be the sole choice of the student as making such work compulsory for school may breed resentment towards the work. The reason for this is that people are often naturally averse to doing anything which seems imposed upon them, especially without reward. Consequently, this resentment may then lead to poor quality of work which effects both the student and the community itself. In contrast, if the student himself choose these services for no pay, this is more likely bring feeling of self-worth and satisfaction, contributing better work. In conclusion, although offering unpaid community services to high school students may help them transition into the adult world, I believe that these should not be necessary component of their programs as this may foster negativity towards work.