Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

There are people who think that unpaid community service should be obliged for high school students. I totally agree with this, because helping as a volunteer can learn, a student useful skill and it can also bring great effort to a community. Firstly, working as a volunteer can learn students skills they will not learn at school. Useful skills, such as caring for the elderly, cleaning community buildings or serving the people in need are not usually part of a high school curriculum. Although these skills do not seem immediately necessary to get high scores, they will attribute to the future of students. For instance, they might once be part of a small community and knowing already how to serve a community will give them a headstart. Furthermore, students taking part in ordinary daily community life can bring a great effort into it. Instead of just hanging around the campus, partying and chilling out with other students, a sort of "community duty" can help them come out of their comfort zone and serve the place they live in. For example, lots of community service in the Netherlands always are in great need of volunteers. Sometimes they even need to cancel events or services because of the shortage of people. In conclusion, making unpaid community service a compulsory part of high school can help both the students as the community. I strongly believe that this may serve students, because they gain new skills that they will not learn at school and it may serve the community by bringing lots of workforces to help them with their work.