Some people believe that university students are required to attend the classes. Others hold the view that going to classes should be optional for students.

On the other hand, in some situations attending classes should not be mandatory. For example, students may be absent because of sickness, jobs, family needs or the necessity to take care of children or the urgent need to be in a different place during the class time. Some of the students are forced to work and sometimes the work hours come across the class hours. For the benefits of those students, attending classes at the university level should be voluntary. Many people believe that university education is quite different than pre-university level education. Students in university level are quite matured and they should be free to learn things they way they prefer- be it classrooms, library, the internet or some other sources. To sum up, different views exist in regards to class attendance by university students. However, in my opinion, it is more beneficial for students to attend classes which will eventually help them to increase their knowledge, read more, learn more and, definitely, it will help them to prepare for their future career.