Some people believe that universities shold only accept students with the highest marks while others believe that some students with low marks should have an opportunity.

Nowadays, universities have various admission criteria for student acceptance. There is a heated debate going on between people whether the institution should only select pupil with high marks or to give a chance to low mark scorers. I feel that mark system is not the major criteria for assessment and everyone should be given an equal opportunity. Considering the first view, many feels that only high scoring pupils will succeed to complete higher studies with better performance. They may be able to clear all exams and other task with ease and are suitable for every job. For example, graduate with better academic record can get a job faster or can crack exams like Olympiad to bring fame to the university. Moreover, they may have the ability to cope up with hard course modules, varying teaching and accessing methods. Teachers can put less effort to teach everyone and can use that extra time to teach something new. For example, a number of teachers ought to spend extra time teaching basics of a subject if everyone is not thorough with it. In the second view, a person may score fewer marks due to various reasons like poor teaching and facilities, lack of interest in a particular subject and living situations. Excellent training will shape anyone into a better mark scorer and an admission to a university will boost the confidence in children to achieve better results in their studies. For example, an opportunity should be given to enroll in a university for a poor kid, who is bright, when he score below average marks if he works after school to look after his family. Moreover, a less studious kid may have other talents which shall also be taken into consideration during the admission process. Along with nurturing those talents, it is the duty of university to provide an opportunity to them to gain a degree. To conclude, I think it is essential and necessary to consider low scoring students along with high scorers while accepting an admission in auniversity.