Some people think that news and media are affecting our lives in a positive way while others disagree.

There are those who believe that current affairs reports and various other means of transmitting information are beneficial to humanity, and on the other hand, there are those who dispute this. I totally disagree with the opinion because the news and media deceive people and make them feel depressed. The main reason why I believe that the news and media are harming our life is that they have been used as an effective tool by people with power and money throughout history. In particular, from WWII, when the Nazis controlled German citizens with their detrimental propaganda, to the most recent case, when Chinese authorities hid the actual number of COVID-19 cases, media, such as newspapers and radio broadcasts, have been manipulated by governments. Consequently, many people have been damaged mentally and physically; many German soldiers died young for the Nazis; people in the world currently have lost their jobs and normal life because of the unprecedented virus, and corrupted media helped to hide the reality. Another reason why I support the notion that our livelihoods are being harmed by various forms of media is that they can make people exceptionally frustrated when celebrities’ lives are exposed to the public. For example, if a daughter of a big hotel owner, such as Paris Hilton who has never been poor, shows off her everyday life of extravagance wasting hundreds of fashion items, and TV also highlights her luxurious life. Therefore, consuming an enormous amount of time on Instagram to glance celebrities’ lives, people might lose a willingness to have a good and faithful everyday life. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the opinion that news and media are making our life positively because they are manipulative and make people discouraged. Given this situation, it seems that people should have a keen insight in order to differentiate true from false when they get new information from any source.